Jahri Evans inducted into School Soccer Corridor of Fame Poll 2022 | Soccer

Jahri Evans was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame Ballot in 2022

The former Frankford High and NFL standout was an All-American at Bloomsburg University and was known for potential induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, recently awarded by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and the College Football Hall of Fame was given, included in the vote.

Evans became a full-time starter on the Huskies offensive in 2003, but awards began for the former Public League star in 2004. As a junior, he was an AFCA All-American team, while receiving second-team All-American awards from both the Associated Press and the Don Hansen Football Gazette.

Then, as a senior in 2005, Evans helped the Huskies averaging 284.3 yards per game – the eighth largest in the country. He then received first-team All-American awards from five different organizations – the AFCA, Daktronics, Don Hansen Football Gazette, Associated Press, and D2Football.com. In his last two seasons, he was also a finalist for the Gene Upshaw Award, which honors the nation’s best lineman in Division II.

Evans was selected in the fourth round (108th overall) by the New Orleans Saints in the 2006 NFL Draft, making it the first Bloomsburg player since 1992 to be selected in the draft. He was selected for six Pro Bowls and became the first Team All Pro. appointed four seasons in a row from 2009-12.

Among Saints’ attacking linemen, his six Pro Bowl appearances rank second all-time in team history. With 169 career games played, he also ranks second all-time in the history of the Saints. He helped the Saints finish in the top six of the league’s overall offensive in all eleven of his seasons (2006-2016), including six numbered rankings. Evans also helped the Saints finish in the top 10 in nine of their eleven seasons, including number one in 2008 and 2009.

Evans was selected for his first Pro Bowl and first received the First Team All-Pro Honor in 2009. That was the same year that New Orleans defeated the Indianapolis Colts to win Super Bowl XLIV. Last year Evans was named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team (2010-19).

Comments are closed.